Forum breadcrumbs - You are here:ForumTRAINING TALK: ALL THINGS BDTInterval timers
Please or Register to create posts and topics.

Interval timers

Page 1 of 2Next

Anyone use an interval timer to space out their burpees? I've been using the Android app "Interval Timer" which is great in that it lets you space each burpee out over 10 seconds... but it doesn't let you have more high intensity periods followed by rest periods. How's everyone else doing it?

The Original Busy Dad and MrH have reacted to this post.
The Original Busy DadMrH

I just use my stopwatch! I know Paul uses a metronome, which is an interesting approach.

MrH has reacted to this post.
MrH

I do use an interval timer quite often, when I'm not using the EMOM format. I'm an app designer, so I made my own custom version that allows me to utilize intervals that have decimal places. The rationale behind this is quite simple: for Navy Seals, if you do 1 rep every 12 seconds for 20 minutes, you will land up doing 100 reps. If you do 1 rep every 11 seconds, you will do 109 reps (with not enough seconds left for another rep) ... but strangely enough, the "jump" from 12 seconds to 11 seconds is actually quite a challenge.... so being able to do 1 rep every 11.5 seconds (104 reps total) is a decent interim step. Similarly, for 6-counts... 1 rep every 4.7 seconds will give you a total of 255 reps, while 1 rep every 4.5 seconds will allow you to do 266. Etc.

I am planning on extending the functionality to allow you to do "separate sections" of a workout, where you mix different speeds with periods of rest etc, but I've not had the time to site and figure that out yet.

Björn from Germany, Adam1337 and MrH have reacted to this post.
Björn from GermanyAdam1337MrH

Is the App for iOS or Android?

MrH